Solar Regulator

SJWBallistic

Good Morning

I am seeking some advice on a topic of which i have little or no knowledge.

I own a 2011 Autotrail Savannah on the 3.0 Fiat Ducato cab.

We purchased the vehicle in January of this year.

We have had an on-going issue with the Sargent EC500 unit switching itself off intermittently. The panel was returned to Sargent for investigation and they replaced the two PCB and this was re-fitted on Friday. Upon returning home the same problem occurred so I contacted Sargent. They were extremely helpful and when advising them of the issue the 1st question was "do you have a solar panel fitted?" The suggestion was made that the panel was over folding and that the Sargent unit shuts itself down if a voltage in excess of 15 volts is seen.

I have disconnected the panel and all is now working correctly. I presume that the solar charge controller is at fault. It is a Chinese C1210 which looks to be cheap and cheerful.

My question is what type of replacement should I be seeking?

Thanks in advance of your replies.

Stuart

It is not an uncommon issue for the budget Solar regulators to not regulate the voltage at all well.

We saw one in May that was putting out 16.9v and the cause of several issues.

We think the best is the Votronic MPPT range, see here for details :

http://www.aandncaravanservices.co.uk/solar-power.php

I would guess that a MPPT 165 installed correctly will harvest twice the power your old one delivered.

I can second the advice Allan has given above regarding the Votronic 165 MPPT regulator. Took that advice myself to replace a Vision Plus standard regulator and what a difference. I also took the opportunity to fit the temperature sensor which may have proved a wise move during these recent weeks........

David

The Votronic MPP 165 is a MPPT solar regulator which 'loads up' the Solar Panel to draw maximum power from it, as all Solar regulators do.