What to look for, seek to add.

Skipper43

Hi everyone, I’m a total Newbie and I am seeking your sage advice in order to realise our dream.

We are giving up boating (motor cruiser) so don’t have the limitations that going on the road has. It took us four boats until we got the right one and that ‘costa packet’, which we hope to avoid this time.

We have been looking at the Hymer B Class (704) but would probably prefer the 708 (island bed). So taking your basic M/Home, what extras should I go for? Happy to consider all recommendations.

Thank you,

Skipper

David, depending where you plan to use the MH could determine what you need as extras. If you plan on warm areas (eg Med coast) you should have an awning with anti flap kit & tiedown ropes. A BBQ with lightweight table to connect to the external gas connection. We purchased a Webber Baby Q BBQ and it does the job nicely. We also installed an external water hose connection so we can connect to town water when available. We had a rear ladder intstalled to enable easy access to the roof for cleaning. Two lightweight fold up chairs for predinner drinks in the outdoors also come in handy. The Hymer looks like a nice piece of kit sadly not available here due to the hab door on the wrong side.
Cheers,

Welcome to the Out&AboutLive forums, David.

THe Hymer B704 and B708 models are pretty long (7.8 metres) and heavy (4500kg) with the latter datum meaning that to drive either a UK C1 driving-licence entitlement would be required. And, of course, neither will be cheap to purchase.

You might consider obtaining this publication

https://pocketmags.com/buying-your-first-motorhome-magazine

though there is plenty of on-line advice on the subject (example here)

https://www.wandering-bird.com/buying-a-motorhome-for-the-first-time/

It’s often suggested that hiring a motorhome helps to decide whether the pastime will be enjoyed and will provide a ‘feel’ for this type of vehicle if a person has no background experience.