Worst roof for solar panel?

SolarMick

Hi,

On steep learning curve so please bear with me.

I read on another forum that the Compass Avantgarde is considered one of the worst roofs for fitting efficient solar panels, due to it's slope and roof fitments. I wondered if anyone had any thoughts on that?

I am thinking about purchasing a kit consisting of a monocrystalline 100w to 150w panel and MPPT controller.

Can anyone recommend a reputable supplier they have used?

As I am a MH novice, I don't want to tackle this myself, but it seems impossible to find a reliable (and reputable) solar fitter in the Milton Keynes area? I have tried, believe me.

Also confused about the following:

The controller prevents excess current going to the leisure battery to avoid damage to the battery. So once the battery has reached it's optimum charge, the controller ceases transmission of current until the battery charge drops, when it starts to transmit current again. Much like the thermostat on an immersion heater I imagine? So during the "off" periods the redundant current is not going anywhere. I believe that is correct?

But some people have systems where this "spare" current is diverted to the vehicle battery, until the leisure battery starts to call for more current again. This seems very advantageous (both batteries being constantly trickle charged.) but few people seem to bother with such a system i.e: they simply have panel-controller-leisure battery.

I fitted the Votronic duo 250 and a 150w panel on our van. It diverts 1 amp to the starter battery which allows us to use the van radio without flattening the battery.

Yes you're right about how they work, when the battery is charged the current doesn't go anywhere (in fact it doesn't exist), just like it doesn't go anywhere in the house when something is unplugged or switched off.