advice on age vs mileage

regmcm

hello to all. I am new to this mullarky so let me tell you a little about our plans.

We are currently living in Cadiz Spain and have just sold up to move to our home in Izmir Turkey. Our plan is to take a very slow journey through west and eastern Europe and plan to arrive in Izmir before the winter sets in. We expect to drive over 5000 km depending on the route (and covid restrictions!)

obviously reliability is our main priority. So my question is this...what is more important as far as reliability is concerned, the age or the mileage?

We are about to buy a Renault XGO profiled Diésel

2299 cm3

110 kw / 150 CV

Year is 2014 but only 23000 km (15k miles) price is 38000 euros. (33k sterling) we have checked it out and its spotless. Like new. Present owner has had it for 2 years and its been garaged for most of that time he has only taken it on one 2 week holiday in 2 years.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Everyone will undoubtedly have their own view on this so speaking personally I’d say that 5K miles a year is a healthy miliage, less than 2K I’d be worried about and more than 15K a year every year might concern me.

So ideally I’d want a 2014 vehicle with 14K -35k miles on the clock. Consequently I’d regard the vehicle you’re looking at as a bit too low on mileage for my liking. Having said that, if it’s regularly driven every year (maybe once a week) rather than being left stationary for most of each year it might be just fine.

If the van has been garaged for most of the last two years the question that arises is how was it prepared for storage? If left untouched you may find tyre flat spots. I’d suggest you check that it has been recently serviced and ask to see the service report, take it for a test drive and check how well the van runs and steers, and be prepared for the possibly of having to buy new tyres even though they may have plenty of tread left.