roof access and storage issues please

Styve100

Hi All, I am new to motorhomes and just bought a '96 boxer, swift royale 610. Love the vehicle, this is after 20 odd years of caravanning, however thats another story.

My question is regarding access to the roof, my vehicle has a ladder on the back but it looks like some part is missing that maybe curves to the rack which goes around the roof. There is a roof rack fastened to the roof in the middle.

I am worried about climbing up the ladder given the age, not sure how strong these things are, also I am considering taking a water craft on my hols in june, this is an inflatable sailing craft basically but is packed in its bag about the size of a person in a bag if you like, it weighs about 30kg.I was seeking adivce on using the ladder to get this up there but then how best to secure it, as how to get to the roof rack, or alternatively us one of those collapsible ladders to get up the side nearest the roof rack?

Styve100 - 2019-02-11 12:50 PM

Hi All, I am new to motorhomes and just bought a '96 boxer, swift royale 610. Love the vehicle, this is after 20 odd years of caravanning, however thats another story.

My question is regarding access to the roof, my vehicle has a ladder on the back but it looks like some part is missing that maybe curves to the rack which goes around the roof. There is a roof rack fastened to the roof in the middle.

I am worried about climbing up the ladder given the age, not sure how strong these things are, also I am considering taking a water craft on my hols in june, this is an inflatable sailing craft basically but is packed in its bag about the size of a person in a bag if you like, it weighs about 30kg.I was seeking adivce on using the ladder to get this up there but then how best to secure it, as how to get to the roof rack, or alternatively us one of those collapsible ladders to get up the side nearest the roof rack?