Useful Site Guides for the UK

johnlc

I'm new to this and looking to buy my first motorhome soon, so apologies for my ignorance!

I'm assuming that if I join the Caravan Club and/or Caravanning and Camping Club I would get guides to their sites plus ones that they certify.

I have come across the AA Caravan and Camping Guide 2013 which was reviewed well in Practical Motorhome magazine. I'm not clear whether this would overlap to some extent with guides from the two clubs or not. I've also seen Sea View Camping Britain which really appeals because of its specific focus.

Given I will be a motorhomer, not a camper, any comments you have about the above guides or others you would recommend, for UK sites, would be appreciated.

Thanks

Hello and welcome john, www.ukcampsites.co.uk is a good resource, and it's free. Withhindsight I'd just join one of the big clubs, not sure which tho' !

There are other websites that you can use, and it will depend on your search criteria, what sort of sites and the areas that you may be interested in. I'd take it slowly, and ask around for advice and suggestions,

regards

alan b

johnlc - 2013-12-04 12:42 PM

Given I will be a motorhomer, not a camper, any comments you have about the above guides or others you would recommend, for UK sites, would be appreciated.

Thanks

For many of us, this is a BIG difference.

While some motorhomers use their vans like caravans (pitching up on a site for several days at a time, spending some days relaxing on site and others exploring the local area), a motorhome CAN be used in a completely different way.

Personally, we don't think of a site as a place to "spend my holiday," all we look for is a safe (and preferably legal!) place to sleep, and if necessary to fill/empty tanks.

The "holiday" is about all the places we go to, and things we do, during the daytime! Then, as the day draws to an end, we look for a place to sleep (if we've not already arranged one).