trip to italy

mpb

can anyone help. in sept we are going to italy for our holls. we shall be

taking our dog. would anyone know of campsites in the sallerno area, also

how safe is it traveling and camping in italy.

thanks

M.P.BROWN :D

Hi MPB, I have been holidaying in Italy, including Elba and Sicily for about 20 years. In all that time I have not once felt unsafe or threatened.

The campsites vary a great deal in facilities and quality, the most expensive are not always the best. I use mainly sites that are members of the ACSI Camping Card scheme or I use Camping Cheques. The majority of their sites are of a very reasonable standard and with the out of season discounts they are very good value for money.

Although I have stayed in most parts of the country I have never stayed at Salerno, the nearest I have been is at Paestum, just down the coast a little. Lovely ancient ruins/excavations, beautiful beaches and there is a large number of campsites in the vicinity.

Phil.

From personal experience - not hearsay - of incidents, I advise you to watch out for distraction theft from vehicles and of vehicles in the main tourist spots, especially historic sites. The danger signals are: a "local" indicating where you can park - they will try to get you into an area where you can be blocked in, also watch for a car stopping on the road in front of yours and reversing rapidly up to your front bumper - look in your mirror for another blocking yours from behind. If this happens keep your vehicle's doors and windows locked and if you feel threatened make like you are calling the police. Be ready to set off the vehicle's alarm if necessary.

A "local" demanding payment for you parking on a road, when the tourist site car park is full - check the rules/signs but better, drive off and find somewhere else.