Personnel Hygiene

Guest David Coxhead

Guest David Coxhead
Personnel Hygiene Hello, I am a BA Product Design Student at Nottingham Trent University and currently working on a project in regards to personnel hygiene. I was wondering how people keep their body and in particular hands, clean when camping. Is keeping the body clean a problem when water is scarce? Are products that assist in cleaning the body effective? Any feedback will be great. Thank you for your time.

"I was wondering how people keep their body and in particular hands, clean when camping." WE WASH! WITH SOAP AND WATER!

Hi David, Depends if you're referring to Camping on an established commercial campsite or wild/basic camping. On commercial campsites they usually provide showers (for a nominal fee) and/or wash basins. For wild/basic camping then if there isn't access to some sort of standpipe/trough (yes, some farmers do provide a trough of water for you all to share!!!) then I'd use a local stream to wash myself using water only (no soaps or detergents etc) and/or a wash/cleansing wipe. I can't remember what the latter are called as it's a while since I've been wild camping but you can buy them at large supermarkets and good outdoor centres. Hope this of some help Cheers Pete.

Guest richard harvey
Hi David, for wilderness camping, especially in the summer when near water, soaps and shampoos attract all manner of insects, especially mosquitos, the skin when left unwashed builds up natural oils which act as a deterrant to these unwelcome bugs, this tip was passed onto me when camping in b,c canada by a native indian, i put it to the test and it seems to work, good luck with the research rich

Guest bertieburstner
If you're at university studying the subject I suggest the first thing to to is spell personal properly!

Guest Steve Johnson