combitronic

Peteco

How do motor-homers find the Eberspacher Combitronic Diesel fired heating?

Is it efficient, noisey, practical? I see that it has been dropped from most of Autocruise new vans who now fit gas. Is it just a cost issue. Our replacement van is equipped with it, so your answers will be appreciated.

Many thanks

Peteco

Peteco:

Eberspacher's "Combitronic" comes in two flavours - 'modular' - the traditional arrangement with a Hydronic heater normally located in the motorhome's engine-compartment and with the rest of the bits suitably scattered throughout the vehicle - or 'compact' (two versions), where most of the gubbins are combined into a single unit positioned beneath the vehicle's floor. I suspect that your inquiry relates to the latter system.

I've no hands-on experience of Combitronic, but there's a bit about it on the MHF forum:.

http://www.motorhomefacts.com/ftopicp-460178.html

and in Item 12 of this sbmcc link:

http://sbmcc.co.uk/forum/lofiversion/index.php?f40.html

Even the latest diesel-fuelled heaters still appear to need a hefty jolt of electrical power to fire them up, so make sure that your new motorhome has plenty of battery capacity and, if you are planning to camp regularly in cold weather off-hook-up, that the vehicle has a charging system able to keep the battery/batteries well topped-up.

Peteco,