SELF ENERGY EG 20

hymer1942

hymer1942:

SELF ENERGY EG20 is powered by LPG, so (unlike the EFOY product) there will be no potential problems obtaining fuel. The following link provides an overview and the likely costs involved.

http://www.motorcaravanning.co.uk/shopuk/self_energy.htm

I have seen the unit and read an article about it in a French motorhome magazine that covered fitting, performance, etc. but I've no practical experience of how effective it is and I don't know anyone who has one. It's an expensive way to keep a motorhome's batteries charged in my view, but if you've got loadsamoney and like toys, then that may not be an issue.

Apparently Truma is developing a 'fuel cell' on the EFOY lines but powered by LPG. This is said to produce 240W (presumably at 12V), so won't be an EFOY competitor in terms of output, but might be an alternative to the EG20. However, few details are yet available and there is no indication of the price or when it might reach the production stage.

Barrie has mentioned to me that, in my earlier posting, I've implied that the output of an EFOY fuel-cell is greater than that of a Self Energy EG20 (or the forthcoming Truma product), whereas he understood the opposite to be true.

Barrie's correct and I was wrong: EFOY fuel-cells have a relatively low power output and even the top-of-the-range 1600 model only provides 12V/65W maximum. Serves me right for not bothering to check...

I looked into these options a couple of months ago. The "upsides to the EG 20 is that it has better output power wise and it is powered by LPG as opposed to Methanol. The downsides are that is it much noisier, about the same volume as a small gennie and you need a gas tank fitting to your van for the LPG supply, (if that is a downside!).

The EG 20 is attached under your van and connected direct to the LPG tank and your van. It is fairly self maintaining apart from an oil change, depending on use, about once a year(ish)!