New Motorhomer Ferry Bookings

rmab

Hi all

I am a bit new to all of this and wondered if there was any advice on ferry crossings and how to get a good deal.

We plan to do Portsmouth / Bilbao next July and wondered if there were any tips or advice that would help with the planning? Such as WHEN to book the ferry and WHO to book it through.

We are members of the Caravan Club, have a Unity Card or could just book on line.

Any thoughts much appreciated.

Richard ;-)

I usually "shop around" online to see who is giving the good deals but also use P&O a lot as I have concessions. Lots of people I know swear by the Caravan Club or the Camping and Caravanning Club. Some use the Camping Cheques booking service also. Obviously if you have decided to travel to Bilbao there is only one carrier, P&O, and they often have good deals in December and January. Having said that July is about as expensive as you can get!

Guest JudgeMental
A waste of money IMO, you can drive down for a fraction of the cost and its a lot more pleasant then the Bay of Biscay....

Guest JudgeMental

A July return is over £1000.But its not only the money

Pleasant? I disagree, I have done it only the once and vowed never to again. Lots of drunks on cheap returns thinking they are on a cruise.... combined with bad weather and said drunks throwing up, no thanks! *-)

I agree with judgemental. £350 will buy even at todays prices around 1800miles worth of fuel, Ferry approx £85 what tolls, your on holiday why use motorways. Anyway the drive down through France is part of the Holiday.

I have just had a quote for Ferry to France first week Dec £55 for the car then thought what will it be for the Motorhome? the same price.

£1000 for ferry fare alone, thats half the cost of our 2 month trip to France last year.

David

Have to agree with a lot that has been said already. We used to do this trip often but now drive it, even in the winter.