Leaks

THE SHEPHERD

Do all motor homes leak, or is it just me. Over the years I have had 9/10 from our air cooled days up to date, and this week the latest one started to leak letting water fall on to the steering wheel and dash board.

The last one bought new from the same well known manufacturer also leaked.

So just how common is this problem, and what is a reasonable time from purchase to expecting the first drops of internal rain. TS

Guest Tracker

I have only had vans from Autosleepers, Autocruise and Autotrail over the last 20 years or so and I have NEVER had one that leaked.

Gone, it seems, are the bad old days of the seventies and early eighties when most vans leaked - many of them from new.

However there are, it seems, still manufacturers about that are unable to properly waterproof a motorhome - but as I have no personal experience of them I am unable to name and shame!

THE SHEPHERD - 2008-11-11 1:08 PM

Do all motor homes leak, or is it just me. Over the years I have had 9/10 from our air cooled days up to date, and this week the latest one started to leak letting water fall on to the steering wheel and dash board.

So just how common is this problem, and what is a reasonable time from purchase to expecting the first drops of internal rain. TS

Not all motorhomes leak, but I would assume that most of those that do are coachbuilt type, unless thay have a monocoque shell.

I would think that vans most likely to leak are those made up of panels with sealed joints which get a bit of a hammering through road vibrations.

Obviously depends as well on the quality of the build.

:-|

Guest Tracker
THE SHEPHERD - 2008-11-11 2:13 PM

I think it would be an idea if I call you the next time I change my motor home, you seem to have the gift. Regards TS

When you find a van that you like, ask about it on here and all the replies - good and bad - might help you to spot an issue - good or bad - that you had not noticed?