New to motorhoming

Nicegrover53

I am new to motorhoming and am due to pick up my new motorhome after Xmas.

The dealer suggests I stay on a local site for the first night to pick up any snags. What should I take with me to get me over the first night? Bedding and cooking utensils spring to mind but what about the things I might not be aware of - any suggestions?

Nicegrover53 - 2008-11-30 5:32 PM

I am new to motorhoming and am due to pick up my new motorhome after Xmas.

The dealer suggests I stay on a local site for the first night to pick up any snags. What should I take with me to get me over the first night? Bedding and cooking utensils spring to mind but what about the things I might not be aware of - any suggestions?

I would suggest ( being winter and wet ) that you make sure you use a hard standing on your first trip. Parking on grass at this time of year without some sort of 'equipment' to prevent wheel spin when you try to leave,may not be a good idea.

There are a few 'all year rounders' on here who will no doubt have some useful info about kit.

All the best in your future travels.

:-|

Guest Tracker

You will need a gas bottle - preferably two and connecting hose - also known as a 'pigtail' - and spanners for fitting and exchanging when the time comes.

A mains lead might be handy too - although we have never found the need to use a mains hook up - but then again many do!

Toilet fluid - both waste and rinse - but rinse only if the loo has a separate fresh water holding tank.

A water hose for filling the fresh water tank - we use one about 12' long and one about 30' long and can join them if needs be.

A selection of water tap adapters is handy but the two different size of screw fitting adapters supplied with a 'Hozelock' type clip on fitting should do to start with. We also use these for joining the two hoses when needed. As time passes you might like add a variety of hose adapters to cover all shapes and sizes of tap all over Europe!