wi fi

trickydicky

hi,we have a laptop with wireless broadband, which i would like to use in france and spain. i have been told some camp sites offer wi fi connection (some even FREE).i am not very good with computer technicalities to be honest. i can e mail, go on forums and play games, that is about my limit. am i right in thinking that i will be able to use my laptop and go on the internet where wi fi is advertised. also, how much does it cost.i have been led to believe that it can be extremely expensive abroad, and when it says "free", does it really mean totally free. any advice on this subject would be very welcome thank you. happy new year everyone.

Some sites are totally free. You will have to pay at others, typically one euro for 15 minutes but this will vary from site to site. You may find that you cannot access wifi from all pitches on a particular site, probably best to enquire when you check in and ask for a pitch where reception is OK.

Stuart

You can also acces wifi for fee at (or outside) most Mcdonalds. In the UK it is just a case of clicking on the wifi button in your task bar and clicking connect but in some other countries you need to get a password.e.g. in Germany when you connect and open explorer you will get a page which asks you for your mobile number - they then text you a password.

In Portugal you have to enter mcdonalds@ptwifi.com in the user space and mcdonalds in the p/w space. on the login screen. I haven't tried the French ones yet.

In the past we have had to pay something like 6 Euros for 1 hour which is not bad at all. Some campsites we have found the signal has been no good and it was a waste but who's moaning not us . We have also had it where the WiFi is only in the bar not being drinkers this does not appeal to us never mind.