HOW TO GET TO FRANCE AND SPAIN

jaynig67

HI TO YOU ALL. WILL ANYONE PLEAS HELP ME PLAN A TRIP FROM SWANSEA TO FRANCE AND SPAIN. AND WHAT ITEMS I WOULD NEED FOR THE TRIP, AS I HAVE NEVER DONE THIS BEFOR MY VAN IS 23FT LONG AND 9FT HI ON BORD WILL BE ME THE WIFE AND 3 KIDS I WOULD LIKE TO GO FOR 3 WEEKS IN AUGS 09 SO I NEED HELP WITH THE BEST WAY TO KEEP COST,S DOWN. AND STILL HAVE A GOOD HOLS FOR THE KIDS. ANY INFO WOULD BE HELPFULL AS IM NEW TO THE WORLD OF MOTORHOMEING

THANKS TO YOU ALL

Guest Tracker

Welcome to the madhouse Jaynig.

Why not start with some internet and forum searches to narrow down what you need to discover and then ask us more specific questions to which more specific answers will probably follow?

Try typing words like 'France', 'Spain', 'route', insurance' and any other related words that you can think of into the forum search facility and you will get so much info it will keep you out of mischief for ages.

Websites like Caravan Club, Camping and Caravan Club, Motor Caravan Club, Vicarious Books, AA, RAC, the ferry operators (and Eurotunnel) home pages as a few just to start you off are all worth a looksee in your quest for information.

First time abroad can be daunting specially with kids to take care of but once you have done it you will probably wonder why you were so nervous!

August is a very busy month and I appreciate that school holidays may well dictate the time but ferry and site prices are at their highest and so is demand so you may have to prebook if you need the security of knowing where you are going, particularly in popular areas.

Hi Jaynig

Last two years we have travelled from Portsmouth to Bilbao in Northern Spain. Travelled with P & O which starts the holiday off with a mini cruise. Then travelled back first year to Roscoff and second year to Calais. Would recommend stopping on the island "Il de Re" on way back using municipal site in the town of St Martin de Re. Wonderfull.

Happy Travels