euro 2009/absolute beginners

judlington

Hi, my wife and I, our two boys aged 4 and 2 and our dog, have purchased an Eldiss Autoquest 56 reg in new condition, we intend to travel through France into Italy, Spain etc, staying in dog friendly, secure campsites for approx 1 week at a time. We intend to leave at the end of March and return approx 3 months later. We have pet passports etc all sorted. We are absolute beginners and have never even stayed in the motorhome yet. We have joined the caravan club.

Our main concerns are being stopped by pretend policemen and general security issues. Has anyone got any little snippets of advice about absolutely anything relating to security or gas , electric hookups or anything you think would be useful please. All information will be greatly appreciated.

(?)

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Number 1 rule do not park overnight on motorway aires other aires in towns and villages are ok for a stopover. Best to purchase CC Camping Card ACSI for low cost out of season discount camping @ 11/13/15 euro's a night and All the Aires France available from a wonderful stockists  www.vicariousbooks.co.uk purchase online for almost return postage . You have come to the right forum for advice and no doubt you will get a lot of information over the next few days from the wonderful archive of european travellers here online . Happy Traveling .

Hello & welcome, I'm sure you're going to, but how many nights will you get in the van before you actually go?

The number of issues that will arise from just one night will astound you and in my opinion it's a no brainer not to do so. Even if you can't get away in the van, could you sleep in it parked in the drive?

I suggest you you make good use of the search facility on here, (when it works..) to help you with specific matters like hook ups etc as of course they've been covered more times than I care to mention.