Long distance charity run - need a motorhome...

RunDobieRun

Hello there,

My name is Andrew and i'm a keen motorcaravanner!

My Dad bought a brand new 'van last year but sadly he can't be without it for a month, hence my post.

To cut a long story short (if you want more info, please ask:)) I am running from Harpenden in hertfordshire to Edinburgh this summer to raise (hopefully a lot) money for The Stroke Association and Action for Children. The route is beautiful but parts of it are very sparsely populated, because of this myself and my support team deicded that a motorhome would be the best way of a) getting the non - runners from Harpenden to Edinburgh and b) giving us all somewhere to stay in the evenings.

As I am sure you are all aware, renting a motorhome for a month costs huge amounts. I am a relatively mature student (26), training to be a teacher in Cheltenham and can not afford those kind of prices.

In exchange for a manufacturer/coachbuilder/rental company/anyone letting me have a van at a cheaper rate, I would of course give them exposure in print media and local radio as well as on my website (www.rundobierun.co.uk), but I don't really know where to start. I have contacted the editors of MMM to see what they can suggest, but would be delighted to hear your views.

Apologies for the length!

Andrew Dobie

I would modify your post slightly and, to be absolutely clear, no disrespect is intended.

But there may be a feeling that if your dad can't trust you with his motorhome then why should anyone else.

I wish you the best of luck in your venture.

Guest Tracker

Maybe one of the local or national dealers would loan you a van in return for the publicity it can bring them?

Nothing to be lost by asking them?

Have you tried an appeal on the local radio, TV or newspapers?

RunDobieRun - 2009-04-06 3:01 PM