windbreak versus awning

trickydicky

hi, have got a autotrail cheyenne 630 and am looking for some sort of awning.only problem is we are always on the move.was thinking of a safari room / driveaway movelite, but have now thought of just buying a good quality windbreak (long as possible) with windows,and a groundsheet and along with my canopy,hey presto an awning (of sorts) that is easy is put up and even easier to take down, and of course a lot cheaper. as we are complete novices to this motorhoming business i would like your thoughts on this idea. we realise it wouldn't be completely rain/wind proof but can't think of any other reason not to take this route.any suggestions would be appreciated. thanks.

Hi again TD! :-D

That's exactly what we do, although we don't generally bother with the ground sheet as it is usuall okay.

Something like this should do:

wind break 1

or this

wind break 2

or this

wind break 3

Just do a search on ebay for 'windbreak' and 'wind break' and you'll find loads to choose from.

Similarly 'awning mat' brings up loads too.

To give the windbreak more strength, we secure one end to the bike rack, then wrap it round the poles of the awning, works a treat. Just remember to take it all down though if it looks like the weather might turn. You'll also need an awning tie down kit so you don't end up with a giant 'kite' ... use it whenever the awning is out as it's surprising how quickly you get gusts of wind from nowhere!!!!

If you have a look at the seller's shops/other items, you might be able to do a deal for the lone from one place and get a discount/cheaper postage.

We have one of these, you can get end sections or just across the front.

They stop the wind and strong sun and you don't need to hammer them in as you can weight the bottom down if on hard standing.