Travelling to france

bammolly

Hello,

I am new to this and would like to go to france with our Motorhome in January. I intend to do it on a shoestring so can anyone give me advice on the cheapest and best sites to stay also ferry crossings.

Thank you

Aires ,in case you don't know are specifically for motorhomes to park and service the van ie water toilet dump often electricity and rubbish disposal, they are provided by the local communities and are often free or a few Euros you can overnight on them too, often for up to a week or more, They are well signed and several publications are available to buy to enable you to find them, others I am sure will post more info for you on this. *-) *-)

The Aires mentioned above are not the Aires or Rest Areas along Autoroutes and N roads.

But:

Where are you going in France? Have you thought about the weather in January? Can be colder than here unless you go to the very far south.

French Municipal camp sites are another cheap option, they are run by local councils and are well placed, usually near all sporting facilities and local swimming pools. Ferries to France are the cheapest from Dover and run about every hour, Wild camping is tolerated in France too and its great to overnight on canals and in town squares etc.