Urgent Help required

franfm

I have just been advised that a friend has purchased on e-bay a LWB Ford Transit campervan (a newbie to motorcaravaning) - due to view and pay for on Saturday. Carrying out HPI etc. I was concerned that he did not know the name of it and got further details. It was advertised as a professional conversion (no converter, no model name), 2004 registered, with over 130,000 + on the clock - sale price £6,000. All my alarm bells were ringing and I asked him to check the converter - the vendor advised that it was a conversion done 2 1/2 years ago by MacLaren Sport and was an autosleeper. I have no knowledge of an autosleeper conversion called MacLaren, I am not aware that autosleeper would sub contract a conversion to another company, though of course they do do customer specified conversion and presumably would do a customer specified conversion on a customer acquired van - though on a high mileage van????.

My questions -

is it likely that autosleepers would sub contract to another company to do the conversion?

has anyone heard of an autosleeper maclaren

is 130,000+ mileage high for a 2004 registered van

If he goes up to view - what should he look for on the paperwork to see what is going on with this vehicle.

Sounds like it was a well hacked company van before conversion 5k-10k per year is more normal mileage for a motor home.

Provided it's been serviced regularly 130K is not that much for a trany, have a good look for the rust worm high mileage trany's tend to get eaten badly.

franfm - 2009-07-16 7:30 PM

I have just been advised that a friend has purchased on e-bay a LWB Ford Transit campervan (a newbie to motorcaravaning) - due to view and pay for on Saturday. Carrying out HPI etc.

If he goes up to view - what should he look for on the paperwork to see what is going on with this vehicle.

Has purchased or hoping to purchase?