Fire Extinguishers

J9withdogs

I do not know what type of extinguisher you have, but the following notes may help.

One problem with dry-powder fire extinguishers is that over time, the powder can become compacted and so when the extinguisher is used, it does not work at all.

I have experienced this phenomenon and it seems due to vibration over a long time period causing the powder to 'settle' and in effect become semi-solid; hence the recommendation to change after say 5 years.

Even in a domestic, non-vibrating environment, the powder can compact. I have no experience of other types of extinguisher such as gas or liquid, but they probably have other factors which limit their safe working life.

The gauge being 'green' only shows that the extinguisher is pressurised, not that it is guaranteed to work.

One thing to bear in mind is that your typical £20 extinguisher (up to 1 litre) will only give a 6-7 second squirt of powder. Always go for the biggest you have room for (I use a 2 litre unit with about 27 seconds worth of squirt). And get a fire blanket, too.

For motorsport applications (I race a kit car and run a four-litre plumbed-in extinguisher system) you have to get the extinguishers serviced every few years and there are firms that can do this relatively inexpensively. For £20, though, I would simply replace it.

Peter R

J9withdogs - 2009-08-06 12:37 PM

Thanks guys. I have bought a 2kg dry powder extinguisher, which is twice the size of the one that came with the van.

I also have a fire blanket (but it's so annoying when the bottom of the container keeps falling off!)

Turn it upside down ?

( Just an idea to which I have not given any serious thought ).

:-|

J9withdogs - 2009-08-06 12:45 PM

Errmmm.....I could turn the hook upside down but I think that gravity might come into play...

Mine's hanging on a screw head, a fitting which ignores gravity.