Automatic Satellite systems (oyster)

breakaleg

Hi All, I nothing on the above, took a look at a couple of web sites, now even more confused.

Spoke to a fellow camper on the Aire at calais the other day (thank you if your reading this) about his auto sat system.

Can anyone advise please, about what equipment is needed in addition to the dish ? or is it all included in the fitting etc.not got sky or anything other than free view at home, so a complete novice.

any idea of cost of purchase and fitting costs.

Many thanks

Pete

Hi Peter

We've had oyster sat on our last vans. The new one fitted is an Oyster 2 system, so no issues with picking up wrong Astra 2 sat.

Should be nothing extra to fit. We had the original 12v sat box removed, so we can use the home box,and now just take the sky box from home when we need to go away.Worked really well in deepest Black Forest in Germany. We had the larger dish fitted as well.

Costs, I've seen vary from 1.5K - 1.8K. Others on here have the "Dome" style dish fitted, don't know these prices, but Dave Newell has fitted some & is an agent for them, so maybe worth while contacting him.

Can't help much more than that. Been a happy user of them for a while now.

Thai

Thanks all,

I will be talking to Conrad Anderson at the NEC in October, (they have special show prices) and they are local to me, although, I Was given a number for an ex Brownhills fitter, now freelance, who will come to me.

but I am sure there will be others at the show.

What i have read so far, suggests that i need a box (sky etc) as well as the installation?.

As I say, I know nowt.