First year questions

Nicegrover53

Hi, I am in my first year of motorhoming (loving it) and have a couple of questions.

1. Whilst on a site for a few days with electric hook up. Should I leave the battery charging all the time or just give it a top up each day? Can you overcharge the battery?

2. It's time I thought about flushing through the fresh water system. What product should I use - I don't use it for drinking water?

Thanks

Others will have better answers that I can give you regarding electrics but as far as I'm aware everyone leaves the electrics plugged in all the time. Plus at home as well while the M/H is not being used.

Water. You will read many differing views. I never flush the system. But I do empty all the water when the M/H is likely to be idle for a month plus I leave all the taps open (the drain and inside taps) including the shower, also emptying the water traps. I also open the water tank inspection cap and dry out the inside.

This is to ensure a free flow of air all through. And don't forget water freezes. In winter any trapped water may burst pipes and joints.

It would be very helpfull if you published the M/H Make and Model then those who have the same type can offer suggestions or problems they have met.

There are differing views regards drinking the on-board water, we never do.

Bill

These are a couple of earlier forum threads that may be helpful

http://www.outandaboutlive.co.uk/forums/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=17317&posts=7

http://www.outandaboutlive.co.uk/forums/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=3082&posts=12

I agree with libby that motorcaravanners staying on campsites and using a 230V electrical supply will normally leave their motorhome's battery-charger running constantly to maintain the charge of their batteries. No real idea what percentage of motorcaravanners also do this while the vehicle is standing idly at home. Not too many I would guess - certainly I don't.