Suggestions please

Tailendcharley

Hopesy - 2009-10-02 9:21 AM

Used AVG for about 5 years now on PC and laptop and (touching wood) no problems so far.

I've been using the free version of AVG for a few years,but since the latest update (version 9) my computers were running very slow.

Have now taken in it off and am going to PC World today to get Kaspersky on offer for £24.99.

It's the old story I suppose but this obsession with getting things free of charge surprises me.

We're talking about protecting a product on which we may have the most sensitive information, that could have cost hundreds of pounds, and is often essential in running our modern lives.

The originator of this post tells us that he's had to dump a laptop that wasn't properly protected and still wants to protect his new one for nothing. Having suffered a catastrophe such as this I would have thought that a lesson would have been learned!

I've used AVG for some years, but the better, paid for, version and never had a problem and it has never affected my PC's speed.

I've just renewed for two years at a cost of £15 per year. The better version protects against rootkits, which are insidious hidden threats and it also has a webshield to protect against malicious websites. There's also technical support, which is not available with the free one.

I think that first time users will pay a little more at £20 per year but, when you renew, the price comes down.

Is £20 a year really too much to ask for insuring ourselves against our computer being invaded and possibly made unusable?

Guest Tracker

AVG 8.5 free version works for us too, along with Zone Alarm , AdAware and Spyware Blaster and with the added support of MalwareBytes and CCleaner - all free - to just clean up and nasties that might get through - not that any have of late.

That said if one is unsure or lacking in faith of the free products the Full AVG bought version is probably as good as any and better than a lot.