Motorhome 'must do' things for winter?

Nice Username

Hello all I'm very glad to have found this forum, recommended to me by a friend. I've been the proud owner of a 1994 Elddis Autoquest (6 berth) since May this year and have already enjoyed many wonderful UK breaks. However this is the first time I've ever owned a motorhome and wondered if there is an essential list of things I must do for the winter. The motorhome will remain on a hardstand outside the front of the house, but do I need to cover it or is that not essential? Also can electrical items freeze? (we have a tv attached to a wall mounted arm). I presume all the loo and water tanks and cartridges have to be empty as well? Have I missed anything? Oh and also do I have to make sure I start the engine every couple of weeks and run it for a while? Sorry for all the questions, I'm new to all this!!! :$

Why not use it.

If not just drain down the water tanks, toilet etc.

Give it a good wash and polish.

Take it for a run every few weeks, if you just start it and leave it running for a few minutes you will more than likely flatten the battery, over a period of time.

You could put a small heater plugged into the mains on a frost setting this will help keep the interior warm and dry.

Hi David, thanks for the feedback. I suppose yeah I could carry on using it, I just wasn't sure if most campsites etc close down for the winter months!! I'll remember to take it out for a run rather than just starting it, thanks for that piece of advice. Is a cover not essential? I wasn't sure if the snow etc would have a bad effect and damage it.

Guest Tracker

Welcome to the madhouse - hope you enjoy your incarceration here with all the other long term inmates!