Complete Novice seeking advice

crbtaylor

We have just purchased our first motorhome, an Elddis115, and expecting delivery in the new year. We caravaned some 8 years ago, but have now decided after reading magasine after magasine and various web sites that a MH was the way to go. Two questions immediately come to mind:-

When levelling is it necessary to level both front and rear axle?

Is an external or internal windscreen shield preferable?

Pretty sure I will have many more questions but if you have tips for a first timer old timer they would be welcome

Welcome to motorhoming....great choice of van,we`ve had our 115 for close on a year now and its been superb.Exterior screens are far superior than internal,they keep the van warmer and virtually eliminate any condesation problems,as for the levelling it depends on the pitch your on,you might find you only need to lift one wheel at times..depends where you are and after you`ve been out a couple of times it will come as second nature.

Hi Colin, welcome!

Levelling:

I'd advise carrying two small spirit levels (either freebies form magazines, or the little ones they sell at caravan shops for this).

Find a place in sight of the driving seat which is supposed to be level (not familiar with your layout, but this may be the top of a unit or a FLAT bit of floor) and place your spirit levels there, at right angles to each other.

Move the van around to get both of them as level as possible, then identify from them which wheel(s) need raising. Position your ramps in front of (or behind) those wheels, and move onto them, keeping an eye on your spirit levels and stopping when they're centred (or when the missus yells "STOP! You're at the top!"). Hold the footbrake hard down while applying the handbrake, switch off the engine and go and put the kettle on. Sounds complicated, but piece of cake once you've done it a couple of times.

Cab screens: