turbo boost

pamal

Can anybody help me re-garding the turbotune dt plug indiesel power upgrade.I am new to motorhome touring as I have been a keen caravaner .My motorhome is a bessacar 2006 year with a 2.8 turbo fiat engine and I wish to get more mpg plus better torque for my vehicle. I am very interested in this turbo chip so if any one has used this model could they reply MANY THANKS

I fitted the Van Aaken Smartbox to my motorhome (2.3 jtd) 3 years ago. The vehicle certainly has more oomph, I couldn't tell you the difference in MPG as I never checked it before or since.

As I tow a motorcycle trailer, the main reason for fitting the kit was to avoid having to drop a gear on approaching a hill.  On motorways and dual carriageways I flick the cruise control on at 60 MPH and relax !

Hi Pamal and welcome to the mad house. :-D

Out of interest, what top speed are you getting? There's a problem with sticking waste gates on turbos if the vehicle isn't used much which may be part of a problelm if you're not getting a good speed.

pamal

All of these 'tuning' devices will do what they claim and, if you drive your motorhome so that its engine's increased torque and bhp allow you to utilise higher gears more comfortably than before, you should expect improved mpg. Of course, if you use the extra power to go significantly faster, you'll be back to Square One (though you will reach your destination quicker!)

Before committing to purchasing any tuning module (or 'chip' or tuning 'download') it would be sensible to contact your insurance supplier, as some companies take a dim view of vehicle performance-upgrading.