ROUTES TO SPAIN - AVOIDING TOLLS

Domino

Leaving 7 April, and avoiding high ground, could some of you well travelled people kindly suggest routes for me to get into Spain, Begur (near Barcelona), avoiding tolls. I don't mind using them to avoid certain busy stretches, but don't really want to spend lots of euros when I'm not in a particular hurry.

I found a route which went something like Calais, Le Mans, Limoges, Toulouse, Perpignon. I think I saw a thread about 'N' routes running alongside motorways - but typically can't find it now. This is my first time in France and Spain, so any advice much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

I do the run twice a year, I never use the toll roads in France, just plot a route using your Tom Tom (what do you mean you haven't got one? Go and buy one straight away!) and trundle along merrily.

Do not let Tom Tom take you through any cities (like Le Mans) it has a tendency to do so. Use a map to check the route and make some decisions yourself.

The joy (at least for us) is not to travel to far in one hop, to stop at as many small villages and towns as we can, in short to enjoy the trip down. There is a lot to see in France. You will need to stop at the local shops and buy bread, wine and cheese, and fuel is cheaper at the supermarkets.

Your route is one (among many) that I have travelled, you will find the French roads good and as long as you slow down through towns and villages you will not have any problems.

In Spain use the motorways, the tolls are not bad and it is a lot quicker. There are many free stretches as well.

In short, relax and enjoy.

Hallii

olley - 2010-02-11 1:59 PM

Hi i did a similar route a couple of years back, Calais, Rouen, Evreux, Chartres, Orleans, then I went on the A71 toll, which is free after Clemont F apart from the bridge. but of course its a bit hilly this way (lol)

Olley

Hi Olley

We are thinking of this route early May.