Water pump

Arthur Brown

It has been suggested to me that I should invest in a water pump as a spare on the basis that should the pump break down I am pretty much stuffed. I feel that this applies to many things but do pumps give more problems than anything else? You guys who are regular will realise I am new to the motor home experience although I have been a caravanite for a number of years and not had any problems. I guess what I am really saying is 'are there problems with motor homes which do not feature with caravans that I should be aware of.

Hi Arthur,

After owning and using a good many 'vans over more years than I can care to remember I have never had any problems with water pumps. The main issue is to ensure that the water system is completely drained down if the 'van is parked for a period and frost is likely.

Suggest that you carry a "fold up" 5 ltr water container for use in any emergency, cost is around a fiver.

If you tried to carry a spare for everything that could go wrong, then you would end up towing a second 'van behind the one you have.

Enjoy the 'van and you'll be surprised how much "fun" you can have sorting any problems out when you are in a strange place.

Guest Tracker

I was given a spare pump in about 1980 and I have carried it in every van on evry trip ever since, covering many thousands of miles without ever needing it - but Prof Sodde's Law applies here and this probably only because I have a spare - but there are plenty of other things that can fail instead!

Bottled water is cheap enough almost anywhere and will enable you to have a cuppa whilst you figure out the problem and if you can't fix it you can still cook and wash with bottled water - just like we used to in the old days - oh yes, we always carry bottled water too!