Plating 3.5T or more

AGH

I have just ordered a new Geist 6900. I am told that it can either be plated at 3500 (as it is from the factory) or 3850. Is this right? What are the implications? Road tolls? Any other costs? My driving licence is old enough that I can drive either.

I intend keeping it for a long time.

We are new to motor caravanning.

Keen to get any advice - thanks.

hi, get it plated to the higher figure, it will give you more payload, also the road tax comes down by £20 cos its classed as a goods vehicle

however there is a downside... check with your breakdown cover cos some wont take vans over 3.5t

there are also cost implications abroad with the higher rate but i cannot comment on that as i have no experience of going abroad in the van.

but there are loads of people on here what will give you the relavant stuff

you could also do a forum search sometimes it works sometimes it doesnt!!!

jonathan

The option means that the base chassis is suitable for a MAM of 3,850Kg.  This can be down-plated on request to 3,500Kg to allow those with licence restrictions to drive it.

Unless you pass a medical at age 70, you will lose your "grandfather rights" to drive vehicles heavier than 3,500Kg MAM (categories B+E, C, C1, C1+E).  If you pass 70 without applying to retain the entitlement, you can only regain it by taking the medical and an additional test (but check this with DVLA, especially for which categories may be added).  If lost on medical grounds, so far as I know, the entitlement cannot be reinstated.  Once over 70, your licences will last only three years, and are renewable for the over 3,500Kg category only on passing further medicals.