re mapping, was it worth it and why?

timofleeds

Guest Peter James
I have no experience of the Fiat 2.3, but you may be interested to know that the 2.2 on the Peugeot Citroen is either 100bhp or remapped by the manufacturers to 120bhp. This extra 20bhp comes at a cost of about 10% reduction in fuel consumption (figures taken from Citroen handbook) and apparently necessitates the fitting of a Dual Mass Flyweel to dampen the extra vibration. So even if the remapper is as good as the vehicle manufacturer???? the extra power will still come at a cost.

Been there done that with a Land Rover Discovery a little while back.

I was lucky, the engine never went BANG

But

I needed also to have :-

Military clutch as the brand new standard clutch would slip at max torque

New pipework for the turbo system as the increased boost would blow off standard hoses.

Stiffer anti-roll bars so it went round corners.

Full synthetic oil in the motor to handle the harder duties.

Different brake linings to make the bugger stop!

A de-tune before each MOT to stop it smoking.

Worry about its ultimate reliability.

But it went like a train!

Do I want this with our motorhome? Well, one well publicised perveyor of tuning systems offered to do it for free. I had a thunk and after that said "No Thanks"

Am I chicken, old or just more relaxed?

C.

I agree wth Clive's conclusion.

No pain no gain,

so therefore also no gain without pain. (somewhere)

AND if re-mapping is done during the warranty period, it gives the dealer & manufacturer a get-out irrespective of what the problems occur (not necessarily engine related).

I had a Merc ML270 CDi a couple of years ago and fitted a tuning box to it. Cost me about £400 but to be honest I couldn't tell the difference other than slightly lower fuel consumption (dropped from 24mpg to 22mpg) . So I took it off.

Mind you that car was already a fairly powerful car anyway and didn't really need any improvements.