vets in france

sheer lunar-see

Hi all, good afternoon. Just a quickie, probably been on before, but I am quite new to this. On my last visit to a french vet, costing me 111euros, he told me that it would have been a lot cheaper if I had taken my own supply of Frontline, and the correct amount of Milbermax worm tablets for both my dogs. Is this the case with all vets ? and can anyone out there please reccomend other vets within the 24-48hr travel time to calais, dont want to hang around calais, seen enough of it over the years. We will be traveling up from southern brittany.

Cheers for any help. Nigel & Dee.

Howdy - welcome to the mad house!

I like the name - you should fit in well here!!!! :D

There's one we use quite often at Ardres, Guines, they are very good and reasonably priced, not a massive distance away from Calais but still far enough to have plenty to do the following day whilst you are in the waiting period before your crossing. They are happy for you to take your own medication with you.

http://www.outandaboutlive.co.uk/forums/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=14643&mid=157756

Here's a previous thread with some more info. :-D

We always stay the last two days at Camping la Chaumiere - see:

http://www.campinglachaumiere.com/

The owners wife is also a receptionist at the vet in St Omer and they will make the necessary appointment for you and you will get a discount. Few weeks ago we paid 45 euro to have our dog vetted before departure - without resorting to taking our own treatment.

David

Hi and welcome

We have travelled with our dogs to Europe since the first days of the pet travel scheme, and the two things I learned very early on were

a) always take your own supply of frontline and wormer (we use drontal which is accepted) and