Automatic - Help

Tweaky

I am new to the scene having looked last year with a view to buy this year. Unfortunately a motorcycle accident has left me with a serious injury to my left leg an automatic looks the best bet for me. Her indoors wants a rear lounge and overhead cab, 4/6 berth with at least 4 belted seats. We also have a labrador. Anyone got any good advice for me-also what is the Comformatic gearbox.

Thanks

Hi I have a auto Renault base Motorhome and that auto is just about perfect . I use it in manual 90% of the time and up changes are seamless and even in manual it will downchange if you are slowing for roundabout / junction so has the best of both worlds . Hill starts are very easy . Few things to get used to is a very slight delay when moving off from stationary but you soon master that, driving up levelling ramps is not as good as with a clutch but again i soon mastered it but sometimes i put wodden blocks at end of level blocks and just drove on to them, moving off on wet grass can sometimes give wheel spin rather than traction in that situation grip mats are useless so i now use old carpet in 4 foot strip 10 inches wide and never been let down with them, last is when selecting reverse if you are a bit on the quick side it wiil not take that command and still be in 1st , can be embarrassing . Thats it hope it helps .Mick

Hi Tweaky

Unlike brickmenda above I use our auto as an auto most of the time. It is the new type Fiat Ducato with Comfortmatic. I have to say it is absolutely excellent. I have used it in manual but that was shortly after getting it last year. We were at Grassingtron the week before Christmas and had 4 - 6 inch of snow each night (with night temps down to below -6 and daytime never above freezing!) so by the time we left it was pretty deep. Selected manual, put it in second gear and drove out of the snow.

Not had any problems on grass or reversing and it works extremely well with the cruise control.