Leisure batteries disconnect prior to storage

StewartJ

Apologies for yet another newbie question, tomorrow I'm driving our new MH (Auto-trail Tracker) almost 30 miles to a gold rated Cassoa site for storage whilst I'm away at sea.

On this occasion I'll be leaving it 2 weeks, I'm tempted to disconnect the batteries (2 x 110AH) so they don't run down. Will I cause myself any problems or even worse damage the charging systems by driving this distance with them disconnected???

Again I appreciate your advice and input.

ATB

Hi Fred, my normal working pattern is 4 weeks on 4 off hence my query, as an engineer I realise as winter progresses and temperatures dip below zero the batteries will discharge quickly. Sub zero temps will shorten battery life and probably result in premature expensive battery failure.

Stewart

StewartJ - 2010-09-27 10:37 PM

Hi Fred, my normal working pattern is 4 weeks on 4 off hence my query, as an engineer I realise as winter progresses and temperatures dip below zero the batteries will discharge quickly. Sub zero temps will shorten battery life and probably result in premature expensive battery failure.

Stewart

They won't discharge quickly at all and in 2 weeks they'll be pretty well as good as when you left them. I don't know anyone who removes them from their vans. My 2 batteries are 3 and 5 years old respectively and have seen some pretty low temperatures!

If you are really concerned about them, think about fitting a solar panel in future for keeping them topped up.

I thought that the self-discharge rate becomes lower at lower temperatures?

Wiki seems to confirm this:

Store batteries at a low temperature if possible, 5°C is ideal. Although capacity goes up with temperature, the life of a battery goes down.

The self discharge rate goes down with temperature. At room temperature, recharge stored batteries every 6 months; storage at 5°C lets you wait 18 months before recharging.