Winter Storage

graemepd

I have just recently bought a 3 year old Autocruise StarSpirit and because I am brand new to motor homing, can anybody advise on how long a battery should last when the van is being stored (it has a Sigma Alarm fitted) before I would need to "give it a run"

Thanks

I store my van over winter for 3-4 months. For the engine battery, mine is now 8 years old and still going strong, even with an alarm feeding off it. Still starts first time after 2 months rest. The leisure battery is another matter, anda more delicate type of kit, having needed replacing twice. Best advice with a leisure battery is to disconnect it if you do ot plan on using your van for a month or more, which allows it a longer life.

However, if you can get at your van during winter storage, it is a good idea to move it monthly, if only round the yard, as it stops the tyres getting 'tired' by having to stand on the same bit of rubber for the whole winter. I have been able to do this, so have avoided premature replacements. Run the engine long enough to get warm, which will top up the engine battery.

Hi

At 3 year old your model could be either a late "old" model or an early "new" model Peugeot.

If the new (current) style model battery drain is greater thanan older model.

Our 2009 Autocruise Sportstar reduces the Battery voltage to 12.2v in 3 weeks. Our previous 2006 Bessacarr on the Fiat chassis, generally took 6 weeks to drop this far.

Both Peugeot & Fiat come from the same Sevel factory.

Although it costs, get a solar panel rated at 80Watts together with the appropriate regulator and also fit a "Battery Master" betwee nthe engine and accomodation batteries. Problem solved, unless you store the vav under cover. Costs - Solar panel around £600 fitted + £60 ish for the battery master which allows surplus electricity to be transferred to the engine battery.

There are probably older threads and articles in MMM to explain more fully.