Storage insurance

spinner

It depends on the terms and conditions of storage.

When I worked part time in my post retirement job for a car dealership we had several Sony radios stolen from brand new vehicles on a large CASSOA gold storage facility with 24 hour security guards on site.

The garage was unable to claim against the storage site and had to rely on its own insurance arrangements due to the terms and conditions under which vehicles were stored.

Usually the trick is to pay the security guys NOT to nick your stuff as its them that do it. The more secure the compound the better chance for them.

I have had 25 years experience of shows etc and watched many a firm get broken into but nobody sees anything - funny that as they are the only ones with access.

One boss put cameras to watch all sides and take recordings. The boys shone bright lights in the cameras ,stole the cameras and the DVD recorders and then robbed the stand at the show.

dikyenfo - 2011-02-03 2:34 PM

Usually the trick is to pay the security guys NOT to nick your stuff as its them that do it. The more secure the compound the better chance for them.

I have had 25 years experience of shows etc and watched many a firm get broken into but nobody sees anything - funny that as they are the only ones with access.

One boss put cameras to watch all sides and take recordings. The boys shone bright lights in the cameras ,stole the cameras and the DVD recorders and then robbed the stand at the show.

I ran my own storage site and when I queried about insurance for stored vans I was told that you cannot insure something that does not belong to you or that you don't have an interest in. (ie hire Purchase). I had Business Insurance that included public liability, as a result I had a condition of storage that all vans had to be covered by their owners while in storage.