adding 2 stroke to diesel

cyclops2

Guest pelmetman

Certainly seems like a good idea, I will give it a try in the works van :D

Just one question are all 2 stroke oils suitable, as some seem to be synthetic (?)

I have been doing it for 2 years as well as Eurodiesel additive that the commercials use with cetane additive for more bang for your bucks.

I lost the entire injection and pump on my Iveco caused by the inferior lub of modern diesel so bung that in and dont let it happen to you as it cost me 3500 gbp to replace everything .

I buy mine in bulk from united diesel at about 35 quid for a gallon and at the recommended amount per fill-up, it lasts more than the average season.

In fact it was a timely reminder as I need to order some more and the delivery is carrier to your door in about 3 days. Cheers for that.

Dave, They seem to be using the u/m stuff at 300mlitres per 70 Litres

API TC JASO FB: Low ash oil for use in 2 stroke mopeds, scooters, motorbikes and other engines requiring an oil which readily mixes with fuel.

I'm going to use it in my 12 year old Transit but not so sure about using it in my modern Fiat multijet with DPF.

Pete

http://fordtransit.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=79447&start=105

Guest Tracker

I have severe reservations about adding anything to a modern engine unless the manufacturer says it is OK.

Some even preclude the use of bio diesel due to 'incompatibility' - whatever that means?

You just don't know what an unspecified chemical will do to fuel system seals which are often made of synthetic materials and subject to very high pressures these days.

I wonder what Nick at Euroserve thinks?