Aires Co-ordinates - accuracy?

laimeduck

I am new to Aires, and am somewhat confused! (not a rare condition!)

For example, I have i-Campingcars Aires & Archies- Europe lists of co-ordinates.

If I put the co-ordinates from these lists eg for Arromanches, into either Google maps, Google Earth or my Garmin Nuvi 200, it takes me to a spot a few hundred metres from the actual Aire (which I happen to know).

(And the same happens for another Aire I know in Castellane)

Is this the accuracy? If so I can foresee problems in built up areas where a few hundred metres is akin to miles in terms of finding the Aire.

Or as usual am I missing something?

Jeremy the L'AimeDuck

I've usually found both Archies and Campingcar-Infos POIS pretty accurate when I've used them to find either sites or aires.

I don't know the aire at Arromanches, but I lifted the coordinates from Campingcar-Infos (49.33904, -0.62553) and put them into Google Maps.

The resulting Green Arrow indicates what looks like the entrance to an aire (and just about spot on).

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=49.33904,+-0.62553&aq=&sll=53.800651,-4.064941&sspn=18.021622,46.538086&ie=UTF8&ll=49.338994,-0.625137&spn=0.002419,0.005681&t=h&z=18

Is this result similar to yours?

Edit:

(BTW, I note you use a different set of POIs for the aires - if they don't give you the correct result I would suggest you might try one of the other free sets - I also have found the Bordatlas POIs for Stellplatze pretty accurate.)

I've just used the coordinates from the i-Campingcars site, and I agree - well away from where they should be!

I would strongly advise you to switch to the very comprehensive set of POIs available at at www.campingcar-infos.com - which I have found to be good.

I agree the Camping Car infos site POI for Aires is spot on and pretty much up to date.