Looking at Autotrail Tracker EKS

micky19452

Hi there,

We are complete newbies to motorhoming and just looking to buy our first motorhome. We are thinking that the Autotrail Tracker EKS suits most of our needs. We won't be buying new, perhaps 2007/2008 model. What do we need to look out for, has anyone experienced any problems with this model?

All replies will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Guest Tracker

Hi Mickey and welcome to the nuthouse! Most of us are friendly and helpful so don't be put off by the occasional idiot fringe and don't be afraid to ask - we all had to start to learn somewhere!

We had a previous model Fiat based Tracker EKS and it worked very well for us. The 2.3 engine pulled well and managed around 28 mpg over a couple of years and about 20,000 miles. It was totally reliable and took us all over France and on up to the Nordkapp and back as well as a trip to Northern Scotland.

Not so keen on the overly hard ride as it made it prone to numerous rattles and creaks and squeaks from the conversion end and the caravan door never did shut properly there always being daylight visible around parts of the frame!

The miniature TV above the cab was a bit useless as a tv but fine as a reversing camera. Newer ones now have a larger screen I believe but quite how or if that works as a reversing camera I know not?

Are you aware of the under bonnet water leak issues and the ongoing reverse gear saga that seems to affect so many of the otherwise fine latest Fiat X250 base vehicles?

Was talking to a chap with a tracker on a site in France last week.  His was a 2007 I think; he had been having a few problems with his electrics/reversing mirror.  Other than that he said he was very satisfied with the van.  (My OH said he had done some wiring in of TV/DVD player himself, so don't know if that was the cause of the problems).

I'm sure there will be plenty of others with 1st hand experience to pass onto you.

Just make sure you test drive it!