Camper vans

manwithvan

I use a 6m PVC.

A recent colleague of mine has asked me what I know of the small campers/MPVs and I can't say as I have no experience. I have put him onto MMM but can anyone comment on the likes of Bongos, Romahome, Danbury, Bilbo etc both as RR & HT.

He has little experience of camping and would travel alone at the moment.

Thanks

We found the Ford Transit a bit narrow in the cab, had to part swivel the passenger seat to get my "girth" through. Often overheated the clutch reversing into small pitches. Fantastic drive, better drive than our Toyota Saloon!

If he's thinking small campers / mpvs then the Jap imports take some beating. Anything on a European base vehicle tends to be heftily priced in comparison, especially VWs.

He needs to be careful though, some of the jap imports have never been rustproofed and look very sad indeed after a couple of British winters.

Parts and knowledge support is now very good, especially for Bongos, there's nothing that can't be obtained. They are generally very good vehicles.

This might help if he's thinking small http://www.bongofury.co.uk/

I've fitted one out as a day van / weekender so if he needs to ask anything you can PM me.

I’ve got a Bilbos Weekender, which is about as basic as it can get. It’s based on the VW T4 window van and has a full width seat at the back which converts into a large bed, and a kitchen unit (with sink and 2 burner hob) behind the driver’s seat. The passenger seat swivels, and it’s also got a small pop-up roof (not a full length one).

In size, it’s less than 2m high and smaller than the current Ford Mondeo, so it slips under height restrictions and fits easily into a standard parking space. It seats 5, drives much like an MPV (although somewhat more basic in specification) and could realistically be used as a sole vehicle.