Keeping your pitch

GARNELP

I am new to all this and woke up the other night whilst at home a wondered. If I buy a motorhome, find a site, pitch up then go off for the day, how can I keep my pitch until I come back? I wont have an awning so it got me thinking? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Hi Paul

Lots of people leave their tables and chairs out, when not on pitch. We have a little plaque that say "this pitch is for ABC11DEF (MH No Plate) though we have never used it, as we tend to move on, or get local transport .

Welcome to the forum, , hope you try our way of life

PJay

We had a M/Home shaped plaque with our reg on it that we would put out at times..And I also had a traffic cone which I would use in conjunction with the plaque...Mind you I once used the traffic cone on it's own only to return and find someone had my pitch AND taken the cone too...Mind you he was well p****'d off when the warden made him move!!!

We have got a cheap plastic bucket that we have painted our m/h registration on. If it gets stolen we have not lost very much. I have always found that the people on caravan club sites to be very honest and respectful of the fact that you have moved off, cannot say the same for commercial sites though!

We haven't ventured to France yet so have no idea how safe our pitch marker will be.

tugga - 2011-08-02 8:28 AM

We have got a cheap plastic bucket that we have painted our m/h registration on. If it gets stolen we have not lost very much. I have always found that the people on caravan club sites to be very honest and respectful of the fact that you have moved off, cannot say the same for commercial sites though!

We haven't ventured to France yet so have no idea how safe our pitch marker will be.

If I wanted to try to 'protect' a campsite pitch in France, I'd make an official-looking marker with "Emplacement réservé" on it.