Marquis County Range Northants vs Hymer Exsis 2.3 Fiat Ducato

Greg Sumner

Hi all,

This is my first visit to the forum and in addition I am new to the world of motorhomes. So please be gentle!

I come from a family of caravan owners both tourers and statics, which is possibly why I am attracted to motorhomes, not wanting to become my father just yet!

I have been doing my homework and subscribe to MMM and Practical Caravan along wth What Motorhome.

I appreciate that any purchase needs to be undertaken with care hence my not purchasing to date and my asking for help in this forum.

Living in Suffolk I have a local Marquis dealer about 20 mins away, this immediately appealed to me on the basis of servicing and problems, we also took a liking to the County range with the Suffolk model do ticking most of our boxes.

We then decided that a single bed option would be better and avoid the obvious clambering over each other if need be during the night to get to the bathroom etc.

The Berkshire was considered and proved an ideal answer but has been put on the back burner due to size.

A recent look at the Northants, a pre-owned model seemed to meet all our needs and moved from a rear to central lounge. If I am honest it was only last minute nerves that stopped the purchase, at £42k for a 2009 model this was a serious committment.

Friends of ours recently stayed with their Hymer Exsis 2.3 Fiat. This certainly was a revelation in respect of what can be done within a small space, something I fear only timelords ever experience.

It would appear that Hymer no longer produce this compact van and I can only find one preowned model with a Ford engine on the web.

I would appreciate any feedback from the forum in particular from those owners of either County range Suffolk and or Northants and from Exsis owners of eiher a Fiat or Ford engine.