Vendee Area

Mickydripin

Hi motorhomers I have been in the Vendee area in mid west France for almost three months now and I have not seen many British motorhomes here in fact I have not seen any.

As I am a novice motorhomer I do not know much of other areas of France so what do you think are other areas more interesting or nicer to visit.

The area that I am in is called Les Sables D`Olonne and is littered with loads of places to Visit with loads of lovely beaches and a great coastline with good parking in the pine forests where the French can be seen in there scores picknicking

You may think it is a long way to travel as from Caen to Les Sables it is about 280 mile the Journey is mostley dual carragways but I am sure the experianced of you may know some good places to stop at that I pass through and missed.

Rennes and Nantes are on my way down but I have not stopped there does any one know what these towns are like I will have to stop there sometime.

I am sure that the coast from Noirmoutier down to La rochelle would make a nice two,three, or four weeks trip down and would be very rewarding.

But what do I know as there are no Brits comming to this area there must be somthing that I am missing.

Mike

Mickydripin - 2011-08-11 1:53 PMBut what do I know as there are no Brits comming to this area there must be somthing that I am missing. Mike
Well, Mike - you missed us! In fairness we have been back a few weeks now after 10 weeks in the Vendee, particularly down on the Ile de Re and the Ile d'Oleron. You're right, though - this is a beautiful part of France which we adore. 

Yep I'll go along with the what the previous 2 posters have put...we did the Vendee for a couple of years..all along the coast from Les Sable de Lonne the Il de Re and the Il de Oleron and inland from the coast too..Out of all of it the Il de Re has to be my favourite place the scenery is great the people are great too and lots of nice places to stay...we will be back there next year