Budget first timer advice required.

jaykay2011

Hi,

First post and looking for advice.

We have done touring vans and tents and now want to try a motorhome. Our budget is £7k so will be looking at an early 90's machine I guess.

We need a 4/5 berth and plan to probably just use it in the UK.

I read a comment somewhere about an old rotten Kontiki, and thought it would be wise to get advice from those who have had or have this age of camper.

Can anyone give me some advice on what to watch out for or avoid ? Which are the best models to go for ? MPG diference between petrol and diesels ?

All advice welcome.

Jason

At 7k all you're likely to ge is a clapped out panel van conversion or a really poor old coachbuilt.

Have a word with Pelmetman he's got one he might let you have. :D

Only joking Dave, yours is a cracker. :D

Peter,

Thanks for the constructive feedback !

I am a mechanic and bodyman so know what I am looking at from a base vehicle perspective, and have seen some pretty reasonable campers for that money and less.

I guess from your response, you have something worth a lot more ? :-S

Good luck then. I shouldn't think anyone on this forum has a motorhome that's only worth 7k. Take my word for it, unless you're prepared to do a lot of refurb' all you'll get is a nail. Sorry if it's not what you wanted to hear. But it's a fact.

Im sure there are vans available at such a price,but one thing perhaps you may wish to consider - if you are looking at Diesel fuelled engines, do bear in mind the ever more restrictive fees being put on such vehicles to go to many places - the LEZ comes to mind immediately,and basically, anyone having a motohome so equipped and of that age is unlikely to be able to go within this area, and is therefore 'barred' from living in that zone, or even wanting to go to many club sites within it. I am sure other cities may well jump on the band-wagon.