Uprating from 3500kgs

Jono

Hi

I am new to MH and not very mechanically minded, so be gentle.

I sometimes see the words " uprated to 3850 Kgs, (can be changed back to 3500 if required)". Other than potential pay load benefits, can anyone tell me why and how you would want to uprate when the chassis must have been designed to be 3500kgs and how would you change it back?

Many thanks

Jono

I don't know for sure either, but my guesses would be the addition of Air Rides to upgrade and just a paper exercise to downgrade to make it legal for over 70 s to drive without the Grand dad HGV rights thus a new rating plate, I'm sure someone will know the true facts.

Jono, I think you have the idea a bit back to front!!

The chassis are designed to take more than 3500Kg initially but, in order to get around various license and toll considerations are plated down to 3500Kg. This makes the van more appealing to anyone with a 3500 restriction and to anyone who worries about motorway tolls or speed limit restrictions - strangely enough, many of these people will probably be busting their payload limits everytime they drive!!

Most vans with a single rear wheel (on each side!!!!) will be restricted to 3880Kg at maximum and many will be restricted to 3500Kg.

Vans with double rear wheels will generally manage a MAM of 4600Kg and some will be more.

I have just uprated my Autosleeper Nuevo II EK from 3300kgs to 3500kgs a paper exercise done through www.svtec.co.uk  £240 + vat now just waiting for my VRD from DVLA . svtec were more than helpfull with their services they do upgrades and downgrades all details on their website. I must ad I have no connection with this company only as a satisfied customer.

We uprated our last van from 3300 to 3500 as we were always over the weight limit. Even with the uprating there was litle spare capacity. The governing factor was tyre weight limit. This is printed on the tyres at a given pressure.