Common Rail

Guest Ken Park

Guest Ken Park
I can start my 1998 Fiat 2.5 TDI with a simple turn of the key, even in below zero conditions, whilst a friend who has the same base vehicle has to turn the key half way and wait for the pre - heat orange light to go off. Do I have a 'common rail' motor and not my friend ?

Guest Clive
I am not an expert on these particular engines BUT what is normal is that DIRECT INJECTION diesel engines fire up easilly when cold. INDIRECT INJECTION diesel engines no not fire up when cold without a pre heater (glow plugs) A few years back all small diesels were indirect injection as the engines are quieter. But as direct injection engines are more fuel efficient technology has advanced at a pace and now they are also quiet. Today most small diesels are direct injection. Common Rail is a method of feeding the injectors with fuel at very high pressure with each injector controlled electronically by the engine management computer. I hope that helps

Guest Ken Park
Yes, Thankyou. But why does my friend's 1998 Fiat 2.5 tdi cat need to wait to warm up (and the orange light to go off) before staring the engine and mine doesn't have to?

Guest Derek Uzzell