Med Coast of France: Weather in February?

BGD

Kathy and I are toying with enjoying some more of the monies that Postnote kindly sends to us regularly here in Spain, by doing a couple of motorhome tours early in the New Year.

We're thinking of a couple of weeks down in the Andalucia region of Spain in early January, and then separately, a couple of weeks up along the Med coast of France in mid-February.

Mostly wild-camping, plus staying on aires now and then, as per usual for us.

We know what the conditions are generally like down in Andalucia at that time of year as we've been down there several times previously, but I have no experience of the Med coast of France in mid/late Fabruary.

We'd not be venturing far inland or up hills/mountains at all, but simply hugging the coast.

We don't mind a bit of rain, but we can't do sub-zero at all as neither the motorhome, nor we, are winterised.

We'd really appreciate any comments from others who've previously toured/stayed anywhere along the Med coast of France during February: what were the weather conditions like for you?

Muchas gracias mis amigos.

You may be lucky, but anywhere west of St Tropez is likely to be very windy for a week at a time. Languedoc Roussillon has the Tramontana and coming down the Rhone valley is the mistral, which blows from the north west for about half the time in the winter.

It can also be very cold and we have had - 7C at Carcassonne in January and even snow in May one year, not much above sea level.

There is a good site for wind forecasts over a week here:

http://www.passageweather.com/

If you look at central mediterranean you can see a typical winter weather pattern for gales tonight.

On the other hand if you get a spell of good weather it can also be very pleasant. It should be milder around Nice, but not much chance of aires or wild camping there in height barrier land

We tend to winter in your area, but as you know it can still freeze at night.