Programme Guides

footloose

We are about to have a 'Free To Air' satellite system installed but a dealer did comment to me that despite many advantages (use abroad being a major one) the one poor aspect was the 'Electronic Programme Guide' (EPG).

Does anyone know of a website where you can download programme guides to your PC....i.e. like a Radio Times' in something like .pdf format? I have tried searching for such a site but without success!

I can't advise on your direct question, but I can indirectly comment on it.

The majority of the "simple" FTA receivers will give a very basic "now and next" program guide, and will not support access to additional services such as text or red button.

AIUI it is possible to overcome many of these restrictions by purchasing a somewhat more expensive receiver (for instance, search on "Dreambox"), but I've little experience of these.

However, if you wish to receive a full EPG, red button and text when in range of UK Freesat reception, all Freesat receivers are (supposedly) capable of being programmed to alternatively receive non-Freesat FTA broadcasts (which, incidentally meant that they will tune all the Freesat channels as well, but without red-button, etc).

This is implemented in different ways on different boxes, some much more user-friendly than others. The Humax Foxsat HD freeview box, for instance, can be used in "Freesat Mode" with full EPG, etc, but may be switched via a single menu button to non-freesat mode, where it is then easy to "blind tune" ALL FTA stations from the satellite it is pointing at, making it a pretty versatile box. Unfortunately, it is mains only, not 12V.