ist motorhome

royalcamper

I have just sold my house and when everything goes through I will be looking to buy my first motorhome after nearly 25 years of tenting. I have a budget of 15k-20k and I have studied all the various types of vehicle that are available so I have a good idea of what I am looking for. However I hope to tow a small car on an a frame and I wondered what the thoughts of experienced motorhomers would be regarding the type of vehicle to buy. A friend thought that a rear wheel drive would be best but are front wheel drivers capable too? Also would I be better off avoiding automatics for towing? In the long term of course I have to learn what is good practice with regard to winter storage and when to do what. I know this sounds a bit vague but as a novice I guess I have a lot to learn. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated as I look forward to joining the great fraternity of motorhoming. Thanks for help and happy camping all.

Hi Royal camper,( or should that be your majesty ?) and welcome to the forum.

As you are contemplating the use of an A-frame I suggest you scroll through the Motorhome Matters section of the forum where there has been much debate on the subject - many times.

(You can use the search facility at top right of the page to find A- frame discussions ).

It's not my subject, but I don't think you can tow automatics with an A-frame.

Also note that if you intend to tour on the continent, towing with an A-frame is illegal in Spain.

Happy travels !

;-)

Received wisdom is that RWD is preferable to FWD for towing (though 4WD is probably best) as it's likely to offer better grip in trying conditions and under accelaration when weight gets transfered from the front of the towing vehicle to its rear, But plenty of motorcaravanners nowadays tow cars on A-frames using a FWD motorhome and (apparently) without this causing problems.