american motorhomes/RV

halden

im new to this and i am still undecided which motorhome to buy considering a number of options one of which is an american style motorhome im hopeing i can get some ideas of the pros and cons of this style

would appreciate any replies on this

regards

Guest pelmetman

If your planning on using an RV mainly in this country then you will encounter size issues, not only with where you drive it, but with sites as well.....................

The best advice is to hire before you buy ;-)

PS welcome to the funny farm :D

Hi and welcome !

IF your license covers you to drive an RV (did you take your test before 1997 ?),

in this Country you can always do what most RV owners do and Tow a small car on an 'A-Frame',

provided it is properly braked. That solves some,but not all of the 'size' problems in the UK,

A lot of sites don't like Motorhomes over 30' long, so it's always best to phone ahead before arriving.

If you want 'Interesting reading' there are plenty of 'A-Frame' threads on here, both for and against.

Regards Ray

Be careful what you buy. Driving licence issues have already been mentioned, but the "grandfather rights" entitlement is only to 7.5 tonnes, and some RVs exceed this.

There is a batch of Ford engines that proved expensively unreliable: can't quote chapter and verse, but worth researching.

Be aware that a few which exceed the maximum permissible width for UK vehicles have found their way onto the UK market.

Make sure it comes from a totally reliable source. American electrics, and all fitted mains appliances, will be 110V, and either a substantial step-down transformer, or some replacement parts, are required to convert to 230V mains supplies. Ditto LPG supply pressures and appliances. Good dealers will have attended to this, others may not.

Make sure you have someone in your area who can service these vehicles, and check whether spares and consumables are readily available at reasonable cost.